Meeting Planning Committee Team

Riverside Area Photos by Michele Felix-Derbarmdiker

This meeeting wouldn’t be possible without our incredible volunteer planning team!   Many of these people have been volunteering as TWS-WS leaders for decades.  And this year we have many new volunteers joining us. We thank everyone for their amazing service to the Western Section. 

And, consider joining us!  It is not too late to join us this year.  See below for open positions.  Help is always needed, and we think it is quite satisfying and fun to be part of the Annual Meeting planning team  –  Email: for more information.

Meeting Chair/President-Elect TWS-WS Randi McCormick
President – TWS-WS Katie Smith
Professional Development Events Janine Payne
Meeting Planner/Project Manager Candace Renger
Audio Visual Captains Sam Sosa, Chair
Don Yasuda
John McNerney
Dave Riensche
Leslie Koenig
Stephanie Herbert
Brad Valentine
Debra Hawk
Breakfast Roundtable Lisa Fields, Chair
Wendy Loeffler
Shay Zanetti
Kelly Holland
Thea Wang
Capstone Presentation Katie Smith
Children’s Activities Luma Fowler
Diversity Committee Bayan Ahmed
Cornhole Tournament Rick Williams
Exhibit Hall & Wildlife Shirt Contest Callie Amoaku
Karaoke Laura Coatney
Keynote Speech Coordinator Jim Sedinger
Local Arrangements Brock Ortega
Diana Ruiz
Kiran Stacy
Kim Klementowski
Michele Felix-Derbarmdiker
Chrissy Sousa
Nick Peterson
Logo Gear & Zazzle Store Lisa Achter
Member Awards Ceremony Rich Burg
Katie Smith
Onsite Registration Terri Black
Photo Collection Submissions and Slideshow Eveline Larrucea
Photographer – Meeting Events & Awards Janine Payne
Diana Ruiz
John McNerney
Plenary Session Randi McCormick
Poster Session Co-Chairs Carlos Alvarado
Allison Fuller
Printed Program Compilation Nick Peterson
Printed Program Editing Debra Hawk
Rick Williams
Program Committee Steve Juarez
Raffle and Fundraising for Students Susanne Marczak
Colleen Wisinski
Chrissy Sousa
Lisa Achter
Social Media & Onsite Announcements Team Open
Student Affairs Committee Katie Rock
Shannon Lemieux
Katie Smith
Elizabeth Meisman
Rachel-Ann Arias
Tyler Gianni
Student Judging Coordinators Elizabeth Meisman
Eveline Larrucea
Survey Coordinator Dan Airola
Thea Wang
Lisa Fields
Trivia & Quiz Bowl Rhys Evans
Volunteer Coordination Kristen Burgess
Carolyn Buesch
Bennie Johnson
Virtual Welcome Reception Lisa Fields
Eveline Larrucea
Workshops & Pre-Event Symposia  
  • Burrowing Owl Symposium
Susanne Marczak
Colleen Wisinski
Janine Payne
  • Construction Awareness Training for Wildlife Biologists
Natalie Greer
  • Wildlife Career Panel
Shannon Lemieux
Elizabeth Meisman
Katie Rock
  • Elevator Speeches Workshop
Katie Smith
  • Federal Jobs
Rhys Evans
Photo by Joe DiDonato, from the 2019 Annual Meeting Wildlife Slideshow